BEACH HOUSE HISTORY
Our heritage-designated building was first constructed in 1912, with its second floor completed in 1914. For over a century, the space has been central to West Vancouver’s Dundarave community.
It was first home to The Clachan, a buzzing restaurant and hotel that served local residents and patrons of the West Vancouver ferry service. The Clachan eventually closed its doors in 1940, making room for The Breakers Restaurant to take its place. From there, the well-loved Italian restaurant, Peppi’s, took over and served the community for nearly thirty years. Then, in 2010 – at which time the building had been sitting empty for almost six years – the Fuller Family opened Beach House.
Our building has lived many lives over its hundred-year history, and to this day it remains an iconic landmark in West Vancouver as a welcoming gathering place for guests to dine in great company. We’re honoured that Beach House will continue adding to the fabric of its story for years to come.